Buy/Upgrade your Takefile Premium Account through any site files to Support this site.

Thank you and Enjoy good music!

Home » Articles » SACD

[SACD] Masaaki Suzuki, Bach Collegium Japan - Bach: Easter Oratorio / Ascension Oratorio (2006)

Artist: Masaaki Suzuki, Bach Collegium Japan
Title: Bach: Easter Oratorio / Ascension Oratorio
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: BIS/Sweden
Genre: Classical
Quality: SACD (DSD64 2.0, DST64 5.0; Image.iso), cover, d.booklet
Total Time: 01:08:57 min
Total Size: 3,25 Gb

Conductor Masaaki Suzuki and the Japan Bach Collegium, Japan's leading historical-instrument ensemble, here take a break from a long series of cantata recordings to present Bach's Easter Oratorio and Ascension Oratorio. Actually, these recordings are very much of a piece with Suzuki's cantata discs. The two oratorios are really large cantatas, with their music imported from a variety of sources, some of them secular. There aren't dramatic roles, as in the larger cantatas, although the Ascension Oratorio does have a narrator-evangelist. The text of the Easter Oratorio is written from the point of view of onlookers to the Resurrection. Bach was among the most consistent composers who ever lived, but if he wrote any minor works, these could be placed under that heading.

Bach tweaked these works repeatedly as they were used for different occasions, and the booklet devotes a lot of space to sorting out all the different versions. As for the performances, they have the deliberate, calm quality that is the hallmark of Suzuki's Bach. In soprano Yukari Nonoshita he has found an ideal collaborator; check out track 5, the soprano-and-flute aria "Seele deine Spezieren," for an example of the hypnotic grace Suzuki's readings can have. Even her recitatives seem to glow with quiet light. Bass Chiyuki Urano is equally smooth, but the edgier sound of countertenor Patrick van Goethem is slightly out of place here. In general, those who prize the quality of contemplation in Bach's music will find Suzuki to their liking. His ongoing Bach project is producing recordings of lasting significance, and this production of the master's two small oratorios is well worth hearing.


Easter Oratorio. Kommt, eilet und laufet, BWV 249
1. I. Sinfonia 4:07
2. II. Adagio 3:28
3. III. Chorus - Kommt, eilet und laufet 4:57
4. IV. Recitativo (soprano, alto, tenore, basso) - O kalter Männer Sinn!... 0:57
5. V. Aria (soprano) - Seele, deine Spezereien... 11:27
6. VI. Recitativo (alto, tenore, basso) - Hier ist die Gruft... 0:40
7. VII. Aria (tenore) - Sanfte soll mein Todeskummer... 6:15
8. VIII. Recitativo (soprano, alto) - Indessen seufzen wir... 0:54
9. IX. Aria (alto) - Saget, saget mir geschwinde... 5:55
10. X. Recitativo (basso) - Wir sind erfreut... 0:35
11. XI. Chorus - Preis und Dank... 2:16
Ascension Oratorio. Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen, BWV 11
12. I. Chorus - Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen 4:35
13. II. Recitativo (tenore) - Der Herr Jesus hub seine Hände auf... 0:29
14. III. Recitativo (basso) - Ach, Jesu, ist dein Abschied schon so nah?... 1:01
15. IV. Aria (alto) - Ach, bleibe doch, mein liebstes Leben... 7:13
16. V. Recitativo (tenore) - Und ward aufgehaben zusehends... 0:28
17. VI. Choral - Nun liget alles unter dir... 1:09
18. VII. Recitativo (tenore, basso) - Und da sie ihm nachsahen... Recitativo (alto) - Ach ja! so komme bald zurück... Recitativo (tenore) - Sie aber beteten ihn an... 2:12
19. VIII. Aria (soprano)- Jesu, deine Gnadenblicke... 6:27
20. IX. Choral - Wenn soll es doch geschehen... 3:52

Please make any music requests here or report about dead links!

Category: SACD | Added : (02.02.2019)
648 | Tags: Masaaki Suzuki, Bach Collegium Japan, bach | Rating: 0.0/0

Total comments: 0