Buy/Upgrade your Takefile Premium Account through any site files to Support this site.

Thank you and Enjoy good music!

Home » Articles » HD & VINYL 24-Bit

Wiener Philharmoniker - Decca The Orchestral Edition (Vinyl, 6LP Box Set) (2014)

Artist: Wiener Philharmoniker
Title Of Album: Decca: The Orchestral Edition
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Decca
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC {image+.cue, 24bit/192kHz}, scans
Time: 05:04:26 min
Total Size: 11,9 Gb

The Orchestral Edition is a luxurious and authoritative 6LP orchestral and concerto set, celebrating one of the world's great orchestras and their 64-year relationship with Decca Classics.

Over the course of nearly half a century, this partnership was the catalyst for standard-setting pioneer work in the field of recording techniques on the part of DECCA and provides an artistic documentation of numerous recording firsts and musical milestones and rarities. A document of a label-orchestra relationship, of famous venues and of the art of classical recording. Few labels can claim to be so associated with a city as inextricably as Decca is with Vienna. No history of classical recordings would be complete without a chapter documenting how both Decca and the WP worked to perfect the art of recording in the city’s great concert halls, most notably in the famous Sofiensaal.

This numbered, limited edition set features original LP front and back covers. The cover art is in the style of the box set. It comes housed in a luxury gold-wrap lift-off LP box. Also included is a full-color booklet in English (English, German, and Japanese) including full recording information, articles by Silvia Kargl of the Wiener Philharmoniker Historisches Archiv and by long-term Decca producers Christopher Raeburn, Erik Smith and John Culshaw. Forewords from Paul Moseley, Managing Director of Decca and Clemens Hellsberg, Vorstand Wiener Philharmoniker. These pressings from Record Industries will be on 180g vinyl. The lacquers were cut by Sean Magee at Abbey Road Studios.


1962 / 2014 -LP1-The Vienna Philharmonic Plays Wagner
1962 / 2014-LP2- Gustav Holst The Planets
1966 / 2014-LP3- Anton Bruckner Symphony No.9 in D Minor
1975 / 2014-LP4- Franz Schubert-Rosamunde, D.797 (Incidental music to Helmina von Chézy's Play)
1969 / 2014-LP5- Overtures Of Old Vienna
1970 / 2014-LP6- Beethoven Egmont - Complete Incidental Music, Op.84

LP 1 - Side 1:
Richard Wagner (1813-1883)

1. Overture (Rienzi)
2. Overture (Der fliegende Hollander)
LP 1 - Side 2:
1. Overture (Tannhauser)
2. Bacchanale (Tannhauser / Act 1)

LP 2 - Side 1:
Gustav Holst (1874-1934)
The Planets

1. I. Mars, the Bringer of War
2. II. Venus, the Bringer of Peace
3. III. Mercury, the Winged Messenger
4. IV. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity
LP 2 - Side 2:
1. V. Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age
2. VI. Uranus, the Magician
3. VII. Neptune, the Mystic

LP 3 - Side 1:
Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)
Symphony No.9

1. I. Feierlich. Misterioso
2. II. Scherzo (Bewegt lebhaft) - Trio (Schnell) - Scherzo da capo
LP 3 - Side 2:
1. III. Adagio (Langsam, feierlich)

LP 4 - Side 1:
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

1. Overture
2. Entr'acte No.1
3. Ballet Music No.1 - Andante un poco assai
4. Entr'acte No.2
LP 4 - Side 2:
1. Romance: "Der Vollmond strahlt auf Bergeshoh'n"
2. Chorus of Spirits: "In der Tiefe wohnt das Licht"
3. Entr'acte No.3 - Andantino
4. Shepherd's Melody
5. Chorus of Shepherds: "Hier auf den Fluren..."
6. Chorus of Huntsmen: "Wie lebt sich's so frohlich im Grunen"
7. Ballet Music No.2

LP 5 - Side 1:
Overtures of Old Vienna

1. Overture (J. Strauss II: Die Fledermaus)
2. Overture (Nicolai: The Merry Wives of Windsor)
LP 5 - Side 2:
1. Overture (Von Reznicek: Donna Diana)
2. Overture (J. Strauss II: Prinz Methusalem)
3. Overture (Heuberger: Der Opernball)

LP 6 - Side 1:
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

1. Overture
2. I. Lied: "Die Trommel geruhret"
3. II. Zwischenakt: Andante
4. III. Zwischenakt: Larghetto
LP 6 - Side 2:
1. IV. Lied: "Freudvoll und leidvoll"
2. V. Zwischenakt: Allegro - Marcia
3. VI. Zwischenakt: Poco sostenuto e risoluto
4. VII. Clarchens Tod
5. VIII. Melodram: Suber Schlaf du kommst wie ein
6. IX. Siegessymphonie: Allegro con brio

Wiener Philharmoniker
Sir Georg Solti, conductor (LP 1)
Herbert von Karajan, conductor (LP 2)
Zubin Mehta, conductor (LP 3)
Karl Munchinger, conductor (LP 4)
Willi Boskovsky, conductor (LP 5)
Pilar Lorengar, vocals (LP 6)
George Szell, conductor (LP 6)

Please make any music requests here or report about dead links!

Category: HD & VINYL 24-Bit | Added : (08.09.2020)
124 | Tags: Zubin Mehta, Karajan, George Szell, Wiener Philharmoniker, Georg Solti | Rating: 0.0/0

Total comments: 0